AMF World Cup History

The first futsal World Cup was played in Brazil in 1982 in the City of São Paulo, Brazil between May 30 and June 6. All matches were played at the Ibirapuera Gymnasium.

The contest was won by Brazil after winning the final to Paraguay 1: 0 on June 6 in San Pablo. Road to the canarinha consecration beat Colombia 4-1 (semifinals), Argentina 5-0, 14-0 Costa Rica, Czechoslovakia 4-1 and Uruguay 5-1 (all in group stage).

Vice champion was Paraguay, while Uruguay took the third place after beating Colombia in Criminal 2-1.

Brazil won his second title in the second edition of the World Cup was played in Spain 1985 between October 17 and October 27.

Brazilians defeated in the final by 3 to 1 local on October 27 at the Palacio de los Deportes in Madrid, after serving a great pre-run; 2-0 victory over Uruguay and 1-0 to Paraguay (semifinal group) and wins by Argentina 11-0 16-1 15-1 Holland and Japan (group stage).

The third place went to Paraguay who beat Argentina by 10 to 3

Paraguay garnered his first world lauro in the third edition of the tournament held in Melbourne, Australia in 1988, played from 20 to 30 October.

La Albirroja revenge of the first Cup was taken and passed in the final to Brazil by 2 to 1 (doublet of Miguel Angel Martinez), after making a great previous campaign with unforgettable victories against Spain 4-2 (semifinals), 8- 3 England, 11-1Canadá and 2-1 Portugal (group stage).

The third place was for Spain to beat Portugal 5-1

Italy hosted the fourth edition of the World Futsal Championship crown in 1991 and remained in Europe, as Portugal won the championship title after beating Paraguay on penalties by 3-2 (1-1 draw in normal time).

Brazil was in third place while Bolivia was fourth in a competition involving 22 teams.

Argentina hosted the fifth World Cup Salonismo and the tournament returned to South America after 12 years. The appointment was met in November 1994 in the towns of Rio Gallegos, Ituzaingó, Formosa, Posadas, Apostles, Rio Grande and Comodoro.

Local party prepared both in the stands and on the court and crowned a great tournament getting the scepter, after winning the decisive duel Colombia 2-1 in extra time to seal a path successfully eliminated the rivals like Uruguay 3-2 (semifinal), Bolivia 2-0 (quarterfinals), Uruguay 2-0, 2-0 Czech Republic and Portugal 1-0 (group stage).

The third was selected charrúa who beat Brazil 1-0.

The competition was installed in North America and Mexico hosted the sixth edition during the months of November and December 1997 in the cities of Monterrey, Guadalajara and Mexico City.

Venezuela gave the big surprise, to keep the championship title with win in the final against Uruguay 4-0 with annotations of David Pinto 3 and Asdrúbal Colmenares

The Vinotinto road was fraught with high emotions as he left dispatched favorite teams like Brazil 3-1 (semifinal), Argentina 4-1 (quarterfinals), Portugal 7-0, 4-2 Czech Republic and the United States 25-0. Only losing to Belarus by 3 to 2, the last opening round.

The Asdrúbal “El Tren” Colmenares, David “The Gazelle” Pinto Venezuelans were the scorers of the tournament with 10 touchdowns while Joseín Rodriguez was elected the most valuable player.

Seventh World Cup was held in Bolivia, from 15 to 28 November 2000 in the cities of Santa Cruz, Oruro, Cochabamba, Sucre and La Paz.

The selected Colombia broke the myth to obtain the title of champion in the altitude of La Paz on penalties (3-1) to local after drawing 3-3 in regular time.

Coffee growers, formidable task, sealed his momentum with victories over Argentina 7-1 (semifinals), Brazil 5-1 (quarterfinals), Argentina 3-2 Uruguay 4-1 (second phase), Slovakia 5-1 and Costa Rica 10.01, falling just over Bolivia 2-3 in the opening round.

The third place was held by Argentina triumphed on penalties to Russia 6-5 tie after the game 6-6.

The coffee Jhon Pinilla with 19 goals was the top scorer of the Cup.

This was the last tournament organized by the International Federation of Football Hall (FIFUSA).

Colombia hosted and won brilliantly the X World which took place between 16 and 26 March, in the cities of Bucaramanga, Villavicencio, Bello and Bogota.

Coffee growers successfully crowned a perfect organization obtaining the championship title after thrashing Paraguay in the final 8 to 2 (goals from Jhon Pinilla 4 Wiliam Estupiñan 2 and Jorge José Cuervo 2. DISCOUNTED Santander and Hugo Delgado). Before the locals had beaten Argentina 3-2 (semifinals), Venezuela 4-2 (quarterfinals), Ecuador 14-0, 11-0 and New Zealand Belarus 8-0 (Group stage).

Meanwhile Argentina beat Russia by 8-4 and kept the third place of the contest.

The province of Mendoza, Argentina, was elected for the ninth World Cup in the towns of Maipú, Las Heras, Lujan de Cuyo, Junín and Godoy Cruz. It was held from 31 August to 9 September 2007 with the participation of 16 teams.

Paraguay celebrated among vineyards, after winning dramatic definition to Argentina by 1-0 (goal by Rubén Núñez) in a packed stadium Los Andes Talleres.

La Albirroja salonístico lived moments of high level as well as tough fight to reach the final, leaving the way: Peru 4-2 (semifinals), Belgium 4-1 (quarterfinals), Chile 18-1, Ecuador 17-6 and Catalonia 6-1, undefeated crowned.

The third position was held by Colombia who beat Peru 6-4.

In difficult times, and the dissolution of the International Federation of Football Hall (FIFUSA), the brand new World Futsal Association (AMF) commissioned Paraguay organize the eighth edition of the ecumenical event.

Guarani organized a successful sporting event in cities such as Asunción, Pedro Juan Caballero, Minga Guazú, Concepción and Encarnacion from 22 to 28 November 2003

La Albirroja won its second intercontinental Lauro, after winning the last date of the final round against Colombia 5-4 (goals from Alberto Benítez 2 Robson Fernández César Riveros 2)

Way to the title, the Paraguayans harvested unforgettable victories against Peru 4-3 Bolivia 5-1 (finals), Spain 5-3 (second phase), Peru 8-2 Belgium 4-1 and Australia 4-0 (initial round ).

Third was selected Bolivia, while Peru occupied the fourth place after the first 4-3 victory on the final day.

Paraguayan Darío Herrera was the top scorer of the competition with 10 goals.

Way to the title, the cast won 6-0 coffee Belgium (semifinals) 5-3 Russia (quarterfinals), 5-0 Venezuela 4-1 Czech Republic and Curacao 01.10 (opening round).

Argentina for its part, could not Albirroja in the semifinals (defeat 1-2) overcame in the match for third place 7-1 to Belgium


Belarus hosted the XI World Senior Championship, marking the return of Europe to host the showpiece event after 24 years, from 17 to 25 April 2015 in the cities of Minsk, Brest and Pinsk.

Colombia revalidated its condition of best team in the world, after winning with authority to Paraguay by 4-0 (goals from José Cuervo, Diego Abril, Alejandro Dimas and Camilo Gómez) in commitment played at the Minsk Arena.